On November 24, 2015 my friend Spike died after a six day illness.  Spike was my cat, good friend, hiking buddy and sailing companion.  He was only a bit over nine and a half when cancer took him.

spike_4-30-15

Spike last April on a hike in Acadia National park

Spike’s death hit me very hard, partly because it was both sudden and unexpected.  I say unexpected because Spike seemed absolutely fine just six days before his death and because he was only middle aged for a cat.

During the nine and a half years Spike was with me, we were only apart for perhaps 20 days.  The largest block of that time was in 2010 when I went to visit my step-father for the last time.  The other times were single nights when I went sailing without Spike.  Spike was a lifelong sailor, but except for his first couple of years he HATED riding in the car, which was a necessary part of going sailing.  Consequently, in his later years he tended to stay home when I went out sailing for a single night since I didn’t want to subject him to the car ride for a single night on the boat.  He did accompany me on longer trips and definitely enjoyed his time on the boat.

Spike enjoys light air sailing-s

Spike enjoying a light air sail on Seaquestor

From the day Spike came to live with me until the day he died, Spike was a significant part of my life.  From his first night at home when he slept curled up on my chest to his last night when he slept by my side, Spike and I were together much of the time.

beach_hike-13

Spike hiking with me last Spring

I could list more moments and events I shared with my friend, but I think I have made the point.  He died too soon and I miss him greatly.

Spike’s untimely death also got me to thinking about my life.  I am no longer young, being in my middle 60s and my health isn’t what it was 30 years ago. It is conceivable that I could die pretty much at any time.  Dying would, of course, be a great inconvenience.  I would miss out on all the things I would like to, but haven’t yet done in my life.  Those things are actually quite numerous.  I would like to travel more.  In particular I would very much like to travel the coast of North America from Washington to SE Alaska by boat.  I would also like to visit the Canadian Rockies again as well as many of the places I visited during my younger years.  Being retired I don’t have any job restrictions on my time and I can afford to travel, yet I stay home.  In the last five years I haven’t been more than 70 miles from home and that was only one day trip.  I also want to do those things while I am still relatively capable physically.

What I would really like to do is cut the ties to all my “stuff” and travel for a year or two.  Spike’s death brought home the fact that I might not have all that long to accomplish my wants.  True, I might live for another 30 years, but even if I do, I doubt I will be very physically capable 20 or even 15 years from now.  Unfortunately, even considering my newfound mortality, I find that my current life style has a lot of momentum.  It is hard to change, but I know I want to.  I don’t want to die with unfulfilled desires.